Jerry Hairston tripled to lead off the ninth. He then scored on a ground out by Chris Richard. The combined no-hitter and shutout are lost, but Benoit gets the save for his 7 innings of one-hit ball. Van Poppel, though he only pitched 2 innings, was awarded the win. It's up to the official scorer, which relief pitcher to be given the win:
10.19 (WINNING AND LOSING PITCHER):
c) When the starting pitcher cannot be credited with the victory because of the provisions of 10.19 (a) or (b) and more than one relief pitcher is used, the victory shall be awarded on the following basis: (1) When, during the tenure of the starting pitcher, the winning team assumes the lead and maintains it to the finish of the game, credit the victory to the relief pitcher judged by the scorer to have been the most effective
(a) Credit the starting pitcher with a game won only if he has pitched at least five complete innings and his team not only is in the lead when he is replaced but remains in the lead the remainder of the game.
(10.19 (b) does not apply because it is for shortened games.)
I would have given it to Benoit, but what can you do.
By the way, awarding the base on balls is not up to the official scorer, as i said earlier, it is spelled out in the rule book:
10.18 (EARNED RUNS): (1) If, when pitchers are changed, the count is 2 balls, no strike, 2 balls, 1 strike, 3 balls, no strike, 3 balls, 1 strike, 3 balls, 2 strikes, and the batter gets a base on balls, charge that batter and the base on balls to the preceding pitcher, not to the relief pitcher.