Baseball Toaster Mike's Baseball Rants
This is my site with my opinions, but I hope that, like Irish Spring, you like it, too.
Frozen Toast
Google Search
Mike's Baseball Rants


10  09  07 
06  05  04  03 

12  11  10  09  08  07 
06  05  04  03  02  01 

12  11  10  09  08  07 
06  05  04  03  02  01 

12  11  10  09  08  07 
06  05  04  03  02  01 

12  11  10  09  08  07 
06  05  04  03  02  01 

12  11  10  09  08  07 
06  05  04  03  02  01 

12  11  10  09  08  07 
Links to MBBR
I Stand Corrected I was
2002-09-05 11:32
by Mike Carminati

I Stand Corrected

I was wrong the other day in using rule 10.19 (c) (1) since it stipulates that the starting pitcher must have a lead. The Rangers failed to score in the top of the 1st. The game was 0-0 when Myette was ejected. Reader Jeff Smith points this out:

Hi, Mike.

I originally thought the same thing you did about the Tuesday night
Texas/Baltimore game: The win should go to the most effective reliever,
which would have been Benoit.

Then I thought again. This is for when the starting pitcher leaves with the
lead, but with less than five innings pitched. Myette did not leave with the
lead. The winning run scored when Van Poppel was on the mound; as a
reliever, Van Poppel didn't have to pitch five innings. There was no choice,
no scorer's deliberation: the win had to go to Van Poppel.

As for Myette, come on, no pitcher "accidentally" throws two consecutive
balls behind a hitter.

All best,
Jeff Smith

My response:

Hi Jeff,

You're absolutely right. I should read what I write. The rule--at least that part--did not apply. Van Poppel becomes the pitcher of record once the Rangers take and keep the lead:

10.19 (c)(4) The winning relief pitcher shall be the one who is the pitcher of record when his team assumes the lead and maintains it to the finish of the game. EXCEPTION: Do not credit a victory to a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when a succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain the lead. In such cases, credit the succeeding relief pitcher with the victory.

Van Poppel clearly was effective in his two hitless innings, so he gets the win. It's a silly rule, given the 5-inning requirement for starters, but it's the rule.

Thanks for the letter,

I beat up on the official scorer for two calls that were not up to him/her. My apologies. But it is a silly rule. I wonder how often it is invoked.

Comment status: comments have been closed. Baseball Toaster is now out of business.