Troy Percival came in for the save in the Angels' 2-1 win over the Twins. The Angels are also ahead now two games to one in the series.
It looks good in the box score but Percival gave up two line drives that just stayed up enough for the outfielders to get. I'm confused as to why the Twins did not have the switch-hitting Bobby Kielty pinch-hit for right-handed Dustin Mohr to face the right-handed Percival in the ninth with one out. Mohr flied out to right. Alex Ochoa got the first two outs of the ninth after relieving the ever-injured Tim Salmon.
The last play of the game was an A.J. Pierzynski liner that was caught by Garret Anderson. Pierzynski wagged his finger and clearly was saying "No" rounding first, meaning that he thought it was a trap. I watched the replay (which was from my own VCR after FOX's best angle had the camera positioned too high to see the actual catch--Lyons also referred to the play as the third out of the GAME.) and I'm not sure if it was an out. It appeared that the ball hit the webbing of Anderon's glove, came out a bit after it hit, and was scraped along the ground before Anderson showed the ump the catch as a "snowcone". By baseball's definition, "A catch is legal if the ball is finally held by any fielder, even though juggled, or held by another fielder before it touches the ground." If they ball was indeed wedged between the glove and the ground before Anderson gained control as it appeared, then I believe the rules says that there would be no catch.