In re. to Benito Santiago's being interefered with at third, Tim McCarver has just stated that ump Jeff Nelson called for obstruction but said in his judgment that Santiago would not have scored. Aside from the issues with the relay throws that had yet to be made, the ruling itself does not read like that:
When obstruction occurs, the umpire shall call or signal "Obstruction." (a) If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter runner is obstructed before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire's judgment, if there had been no obstruction. The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction.
Santiago was interfered with as he rounded third. He already occupied third. The rule states that he shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base he last legally tocuhed before the interference. Santiago then has to score if Nelson calls an obstruction.